Herzlich willkommen

Herzlich willkommen auf der Unimog-Community-Website. Seit 1999 treffen sich hier die Mercedes-Benz Unimog- und MBtrac-Enthusiasten zum Meinungsaustausch und Fachsimpeln.

Hier werden Fragen zur Technik und zur Restauration des Unimog gestellt.

Moderator: stephan

Hello everybody!

I'm new in the world of Unimog's. I just bought my first one, hope it's not the last.
I' ve been driving it for around 50 kilometers and now it's stuck.

The problem is in the Intermediate gearbox(Please correct me if I am wrong???), you can see in the attached picture.
I parked it in the backyard of my house, left the intermediate gearbox lever(4) in the neutral(middle) position and when I wanted to move again I couldn't push the lever forward or back, stuck in neutral position.
If I push hard forward on the lever with the engine running the Mog starts moving forward just a bit and then it stops, if I try to push it backwards it's like I'm pushing against the wall no movement of the lever or the Mog.

Please advise what to do?

It's a 1985, Unimog 406, 62kW, gearbox in the picture.

Still didn't purchase repair manual's, in the process, but because of work unable to touch the Mog for another 6 weeks, working offshore.

If you have any pictures of the intermediate gearbox gears or anything etc. it would be a big help?

Also some advice what instruction and service manuals to buy? Maybe on buchunbild.de?
Dateianhänge:
Intermediate gearbox.jpg
Intermediate gearbox.jpg (87.91 KiB) 1188 mal betrachtet
Hello unknon
welcome here. We ask for attention to the courtesy rules (Nettiquette). It is customary here to sign each post with our name.

The literature of Buch & Bild is the original literature of Mercedes Benz, the publisher has the sole copy rights. The manuals are available in many languages.